Destined to Reign

It is abnormal for a Christian not to have an appetite for the impossible. It has been written into our spiritual DNA to hunger for the impossibilities around us to bow at the name of Jesus.’

On the eve of my 32nd birthday I am faced with a sharp sense of destiny. A destiny that has been made clear to me over years of pain and struggle. Now coming to life in the most surprising way ever.

For years I have lived my life based on what I thought others wanted for me, what I thought would be the right way to do things. The picture I had painted of my life at 32 is not the same as what had been drawn upon the boards of His-story, but yet are more promising and full of hope than before.

At 32 I am married to a beautiful woman, father to a wonderful son and involved everyday with the possibilities of affection change in people’s lives.

I have always wanted to change the world. Since I can remember, I had always wanted to be either a fireman, doctor or be in some kind of professions that would help people.

Maybe it’s because I grew up in a world where I had seen too many get hurt, seen my mother being abused, beaten an scorned by the very men who professed to love her. Maybe it’s because I never wants another child to go through te pain and heartache my sister and I had to endure, moving from place to place, town to town.

But, here we are. All grown up with families of our own. A song rings true ‘I made it through the wilderness”. Yes, and we are in the promised land. It might not be what We imagined, but it is better than most and I am grateful.

Here, on the brink of my 32nd birthday I am once again reminded that at 32, it was also Christ’s last year on earth and he only had a year and a half left to fulfill his mission, and he did!

Now, more than ever is this mission highlighted in my life. I was called to this mission in the strangest of ways. Nothing fancy, no fireworks, no flashes of light, angels, manifestations. Nada! Just a still small voice calling me closer and closer.

The past 10 years have been an amazing journey of learning, challenge, confusion, discovery, excitement, pain and wonder. But, nonetheless, it was a good one, one if growth.

I don’t know what the next 10 years have in store, but I know this one thing, as something we said 10 years ago, ‘I’m somewhere in the future and I look much better than I look right now! (No reference to my weight please!’).

God has placed a burning desire in my heart to see ‘His Kingdom Come’ on earth as it it in heaven. There is too much at stake, the price paid was way too high for us to just give in and die. There is so much more in store for us. The church has not lost its glory, despite reports and what others may think and what it may seem like.

There is a true company of people arising in the earth. A company born out of the clay, fashioned to reign, on earth as it is heaven! We are royalty, we are princes and kings! Let no one tell you otherwise.

Truth is real, Truth is absolute and the Truth is a man by the name of Jesus, who, although he was God, became a man, like you and me and showed us that we too, can be like Him. He has given us all the ‘keys to the kingdom’ in order to open up the gates of heaven and usher in the King! Don’t relent, don’t bak down, press on, keep pressing on!

It is not over yet, he is waiting for a people like you and me, if you are reading this, you are one of us!

I know that I have been placed on this earth with a purpose, a destiny to fulfill, there is promise in that City on a Hill! It’s not an empty wish, I know I was born for such a time as this!

Come, join me and others in this army, let’s take back what has been stolen from us! Let’s speak an end to death, sickness and poverty! He has paid the price, he has conquered it all!

There is so much in store for those who trust in him!

We were fashioned and destined to reign!

